Student Ministries

“As a prisoner for the Lord, then, I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received. Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace.” Ephesians 4:1-3

 

We invite you to participate in Campus Ministries United (CMU), an umbrella association consisting of a variety of student ministry groups. These ministries will help you develop a mature Christian faith by providing varied opportunities for expressing a growing Christian experience.

 

The CMU Council is composed of student leaders who represent different aspects of Christian Life and Service and model unified function, mutual understanding, encouragement, and cooperation.  As a member of CMU Council, you will work together with other council members and the ministerial staff through prayer, discipleship, and relationship-building to promote a passion and enduring devotion to Christ among students at GWU.

 

Student ministries include:

The Gathering

The Gathering is a student-led worship service open to all students in the Stewart Hall (in the Tucker Student Center) every Tuesday night at 8 p.m. You’ll love getting to worship with fellow students through music, a speaker, drama, and fellowship. For more information, contact Sarah Branch at sbranch@gardner-webb.edu.  

Missions Possible

Missions Possible creates awareness for mission needs at home and abroad. Gardner-Webb is one of the nation’s top ten schools for mobilizing student missionaries through the North American Mission Board. During the 2014-2015 school year, students will have the opportunity to serve in Elizabeth City, North Carolina; Denver, Colorado; Guatemala;  Honduras and Cape Town, South Africa.   To learn more, contact Teresa Davis at tdavis@gardner-webb.edu.

F.O.C.U.S.

Fellowship of Christians United in Service (FOCUS) consists of teams of students who are involved in leading youth retreats locally and regionally. FOCUS teams of 6-10 students meet weekly and develop a closer community of friends devoted to discipleship and serving the Lord by working with the church. FOCUS trips are designed to meet the needs and desires of the church so each one is different but typically they last from Friday evening until after lunch on Sunday. Throughout the weekend, FOCUS teams encourage youth through games, skits, worship times, and Bible study. The team and youth are prepared to lead the service on Sunday morning. To request a team or for more information, please contact Rachael Zimmerman at rzimmerman1@gardner-webb.edu or Kyle Medlin kmedlin1@gardner-webb.edu.

Pastoral and Prayer Ministries

Throughout the week and before Verge on Tuesdays at 7:15 p.m. in the Tucker Chapel, students gather to pray for campus as well as the future of the university. There is also a 24/7 prayer room located in Dover Chapel. The prayer room is open for all to pray, meditate, and worship through art and music. Students also periodically plan and participate in 24-7 prayer campaigns. For more information or to submit a prayer request, contact Hannah Ray at hray1@gardner-webb.edu.

Outreach Ministries

Through Outreach Ministries, students are able to serve others and develop relationships through one-on-one interactions allowing for discipleship and fellowship on campus. To get involved contact Caroline Williams at cwilliams17@gardner-webb.edu or Hope Still at astill@gardner-webb.edu.

Multimedia Ministry

Media ministry helps facilitate worship through making videos and PowerPoints, running sound systems, and working at Dimensions. Contact Richard Martin at rmartin7@gardner-webb.edu.

Publicity Ministry

To help get the word out about upcoming events and other ministries through flyers, banners, videos, and more, contact Kieran Garvey at kgarvey@gardner-webb.edu.

Sisters, Women’s Ministries

Sisters Ministry allows females on campus have the opportunity to build Christian relationships and accountability through small groups, fellowship, fun events, and service projects. To get involved, contact Emma Shappley at eshappley@gardner-webb.edu or Sarah Haywood at shaywood@gardner-webb.edu.

Brothers, Men’s Ministries

Brothers Ministry allows students in small groups to meet for fellowship, prayer, accountability, and Bible study as well as outdoor adventures such as camping trips. To get involved, contact Ethan Ramsey at eramsey1@gardner-webb.edu or Matthew Waller at mwaller@gardner-webb.edu.

International Students Ministries

Since international students are far away from home, the International Ministry partners with the International Club to provide the chance for students to have a “home away from home” at GWU. To get involved, contact Mindy Robinson at mrobinson5@gardner-webb.edu or Neal Payne at npayne@gardner-webb.edu.

Athletics Ministry

Athletics Ministry coordinates a Team of the Week for every GWU team once a year. During this time, teams are prayed for and with (if permitted) and each athlete receives a goodie bag. If athletes have birthdays during the school year and live on campus, they receive a homemade birthday card from CMU. To get involved, contact Raygan Hall at rhall9@gardner-webb.edu.

Prison Fellowship Ministries

Prison Fellowship gives students the opportunity to visit regional prisons thus allowing for conversations and ministry with the prisoners. For more information contact Haley Spurlin at hspurlin@gardner-webb.edu.

Gospel Choir

The Gospel Choir practices weekly and has the opportunity to perform in churches and at other events. To get involved, contact Ebony Stowe at estowe@gardner-webb.edu.

Fellowship of Christian Athletes

FCA’s mission is to bring athletes and other students together to serve and worship. They meet every Thursday night at 8pm in the Clubhouse.  For more information, contact Gabby Cortese at gcortese@gardner-webb.edu or James Needham at jneedham@gardner-webb.edu.

 

If you are interested in being plugged in to CMU but aren’t quite sure where, contact Madison Swift, CMU Coordinator, at mswift@gardner-webb.edu.