College of Arts and Sciences

The college of Arts and Sciences at Gardner-Webb University is composed of those departments and academic units which are home to the liberal arts (arts, humanities, natural and social sciences). As the intellectual heart of the university, the College promotes interdisciplinary learning, global understanding, communication skills and the promotion of critical thinking and discovery, all in the context of Christian faith. The College also seeks to create a challenging intellectual environment that enhances individual growth, supports service and leadership and encourages creative endeavors that augment human knowledge and understanding. 

The College is made up of the following academic units:

  • Department of Communication & New Media
  • Department of English Language and Literature
  • Department of Mathematical Sciences
  • Department of Natural Sciences
  • Department of Health, Sport, and Physical Education
  • Department of Religious Studies and Philosophy
  • Department of Social Sciences
  • Department of World Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
  • The School of Performing and Visual Arts, comprised of the Department of Music, Department of Theatre Arts, and Department of Visual Arts