Young Alumnus of the Year Award


David C. Podgorski

Young Alumnus of the Year

Class of 2007 – Chemistry

David C. Podgorski is originally from Virginia Beach, Virginia. He first came to GWU on a football scholarship. After transferring to another institution for one year and suffering a broken leg, he decided to come back to the school that he loved and devote his full attention to obtaining a degree in chemistry.


All of the success that David has achieved is a direct result of the sacrifice, dedication, love, and support of others. His mother, Susan Davis, raised David as a single parent. She worked long hours to ensure that David had everything he needed to succeed. She made financial and emotional sacrifices to keep a sometimes rebellious teenager on the path to success. Colette Podgorski stood by David through the good and bad times in life. She has always been there and supported him for the past 12 years. Drs. Brooks, Eddins and Totten provided David with the knowledge, skills and confidence that has directly resulted in his success as a graduate student and a professional in the field of chemistry at Florida State.



Finally, David’s son Zeke has provided him with the joy and motivation to be successful. David’s number one goal is to be a positive role model for Zeke and to set the bar as high as possible so that Zeke can strive to be more successful than his daddy. David is extremely honored to accept this award, but says that he feels he is undeserving. He feels that those who deserve this recognition are his family and friends who carried him to this point.


David, we welcome you as the 2013 Young Alumnus of the Year.

Past Young Alumnus of the Year Award Recipients

2012 Mrs. Carrie Brinkley Jones, 2006

2011 Mr Shedrick Harris, 1998

2010 Mr. Maurice York, 1996

2009 Master Sergeant Robert Harrelson & Flight Commander Tracy Harrelson

2008 Mr. Jeremy Martin, B.S. 2003

2007 Mr. Nelson Searcy, B.A. 1994

2006 Mr. E. Drew Bridges, A.A. 1967

2005 Mr. Casey Mitchell Cooper, A.A. 1991; B.S.N 1993

2004 Mr. Robert Anderson Hanner, B.S. 1986

2003 Ms. Starr Gist Wright, B.A. 2000; M.DIV 2003

2002 Mr. Mamadi Corra, B.S. 1993; M.B.A., 1995

2001 Mr. Randall Chris Hall, B.S. 1988

1999 Lieutenant Martin White, B.A. 1993

1997 Ms. Lisa Carol Tucker, B.S. 1989

1996 Ms. Rebecca Hicks Walter, B.S. 2004

1995 Mr. J. Douglas Armstrong, B.S. 1988

1994 Mr. Randy Keith Kilby, B.A. 1979

1993 Mrs. Gaylin Wylie Huff, B.A. 1977

1992 Ms. Jill Haney Coy, A.A. 1976

1991 Mr. E. Russell Anderson, B.S. 1976