Presidential Search Underway

University Appoints Faculty, Staff, Students, and Trustees to Help Select Next GWU President

Gardner-Webb University's campus at dusk

Officials at Gardner-Webb University have announced the formation of the committee that will guide the search for the institution’s 13th President.

Dr. A. Frank Bonner, who has served Gardner-Webb for more than 30 years—including the last 13 years as the University’s president—will retire from his post early next year.

According to David Royster III, GWU Board of Trustee member and chairman of the Presidential Search Committee, the group will work in conjunction with the Charlotte-based executive search firm Coleman Lew + Associates, Inc. to help secure qualified leaders as candidates for the position.

The firm visited the Gardner-Webb campus in April, where they met with the President’s cabinet, executive members of the staff council, deans and faculty leaders, department chairs, and students.

“We have a busy few weeks ahead preparing for this work,” Royster explained. “We are finalizing a communications plan to ensure the process is transparent, open, and inclusive, while respecting the confidentiality of our candidates.”

At retirement, Bonner will have logged almost 32 years with Gardner-Webb. “I want to believe that my career has been about contributing to the success—in the fullest and best meaning of the word—of generations of students, both through teaching in the past and administrative work more recently,” he reflected. “Now, I want to turn my attention to helping young people and others individually as well as collectively, perhaps through mentoring or tutoring, and in other ways that I can contribute.”

Learn more about the search process for GWU’s next president

Members of the GWU Presidential Search Committee include:

David W. Royster, III

Rodney Allison
Candy Arey
Ron Beane
Susan Briggs
Chris Welch

Scot Hull, Co-Chair, Staff Council
Lou Ann Scates, Chair, Staff Council

Dr. Donald Berry, Department of Religious Studies; Chair of the Faculty
Dr. Cheryl Duffus, Department of English; Chair-Elect of the Faculty

Aliah Price, Student Government Association President, 2018-19

Coleman Lew + Associates