news-category: Athletics

Gardner-Webb Leads Big South Conference with 339 Students on the Big South Presidential Honor Roll

A collage of sports photos with the No. 339 Big South student-athletes named to honor roll.

Nearly 50 GWU Student-Athletes Selected for Commissioner’s Award

BOILING SPRINGS, N.C.—Gardner-Webb placed 339 student-athletes to the Big South Presidential Honor Roll, announced on Monday, July 31.  

To be named to the Presidential Honor Roll, student-athletes must maintain a grade point average of 3.0 (on a 4.0 scale) or better for the recently completed academic year. GWU had the fourth-highest percentage of eligible student-athletes named to the Honor Roll, with 76.87 percent (339-of-441) student-athletes earning the accolades. The Runnin’ Bulldogs led the conference with its 339 student-athletes earning the award, as the closest school to Gardner-Webb was Campbell with 265 student-athletes being named to the list.  

Wrestling is not eligible for the list, as they compete in the SoCon, but nine GWU wrestlers earned SoCon Honor Roll honors last month.  

In addition, 43 total student-athletes earned the Big South Conference Commissioner’s Award distinction in 2022-23 for having a 4.0 GPA. The conference saw 647 total Gold Award scholars (3.75-3.99), while another 587 received Silver Award (3.50-3.74) accolades in 2022-23 for a combined total of 1,481 student-athletes with at least a 3.50 GPA last year—63.18 percent of all Presidential Honor Roll members at or above that threshold.  

Standouts for Gardner-Webb include Lucas Stieber being the only men’s basketball player in the entire conference to earn the Big South Commissioner’s Award, and men’s tennis player Victor Putter, who was named the Big South Men’s Scholar Athlete of the Year. Women’s swimming led the Runnin’ Bulldogs with nine student-athletes earning the Commissioner’s Award.  

The 339 total Gardner-Webb student athletes on the list is a massive jump from the 2021-22 school year, where 67.84 percent of all Gardner-Webb student-athletes landed on the Presidential Honor Roll, with just 23 earning the Commissioner’s Award distinction.  

This past season, 2,344 out of 3,443 eligible Big South student-athletes achieved the benchmark for Presidential Honor Roll, a league-record 68.08 percent.  

The Gardner-Webb Big South Commissioner’s Award winners are listed below, while the entire Big South Presidential Honor Roll winners are listed here.  

Commissioner’s Award Winners (4.0 GPA)

  • Michael Portela, Baseball
  • Curtis Robison, Baseball
  • Grant Vera, Baseball
  • Lucas Stieber, Men’s Basketball
  • Grace Knutsen, Women’s Basketball
  • Eli Brooks, Football
  • Evan Hoskyns, Football
  • Linnea Hofgren, Women’s Golf
  • Gillian O’Brien, Women’s Golf
  • Emma Duchscherer, Women’s Lacrosse
  • Victoria Fischetti, Women’s Lacrosse
  • Reese Jones, Women’s Lacrosse
  • Sarah Lynn, Women’s Lacrosse
  • Kyla Pascucci, Women’s Lacrosse
  • Jada Preston, Women’s Lacrosse
  • Avery Hogan, Men’s Soccer
  • Braeden Pratt, Men’s Soccer
  • Owen Zaldivar, Men’s Soccer
  • Rebecka Fredrik Hemlin, Women’s Soccer
  • Christabel Thompson, Women’s Soccer
  • Kasey Fava, Softball
  • Abbey Goodrum, Softball
  • Meredith Wayland, Softball
  • Victor Putter, Men’s Tennis
  • Emilia Roslund, Women’s Tennis
  • Joseph Waller, Men’s Track & Field/Cross Country
  • Khalilah Conway, Women’s Track & Field/Cross Country
  • Isabella Drewek, Women’s Track & Field/Cross Country
  • Tori Weatherley, Volleyball
  • Justin Bender, Men’s Swimming
  • Landon Clark, Men’s Swimming
  • Garrett Despres, Men’s Swimming
  • Theodore Drescher, Men’s Swimming
  • James Wyatt, Men’s Swimming
  • Alyssa Church, Women’s Swimming
  • Ellisa Eckert, Women’s Swimming
  • Anna Frye, Women’s Swimming
  • Alexandra Haasser, Women’s Swimming
  • Andrea Hunt, Women’s Swimming
  • Sara Jann, Women’s Swimming
  • Jasmine Kremer, Women’s Swimming
  • Hailey Williams, Women’s Swimming
  • Alaina Yeater, Women’s Swimming

Story content provided courtesy of

Previous News Article

Orientation for New Gardner-Webb Students, First-Year and Transfer, Begins Aug. 12

Next News Article

Students Gain Experience in Computer Science Technology at Gardner-Webb Camp

Related News

  • News Article

    Gardner-Webb Launches National Search for new Head Football Coach

    Collegiate Sports Associates will Lead Search BOILING SPRINGS, N.C. – Gardner-Webb University Head Football Coach Tre Lamb resigned on Monday to accept the head coaching position at East Tennessee State University. A national search for Gardner-Webb’s next head coach has already begun and will be led by Raleigh-based Collegiate Sports Associates. Collegiate Sports Associates (CSA) […]

  • News Article

    Gardner-Webb wins Second Straight Conference Championship

    Runnin’ Bulldogs Face Mercer in FCS Playoffs Nov. 25 at 3 p.m. in Macon, Ga. BOILING SPRINGS, N.C.—The Gardner-Webb Runnin’ Bulldogs return to the FCS Playoffs for the second straight season, facing Mercer in the opening round on Saturday, Nov. 25, at 3 p.m. This is the second straight year Gardner-Webb has qualified for the […]

    GWU football team celebrates after winning the championship
  • News Article

    Gardner-Webb Renews Radio Partnership with 730 The Game ESPN Charlotte

    Expands Partnership with Alpha Graphics South Charlotte as title sponsor of the Runnin’ Bulldogs Sports Network BOILING SPRINGS, N.C.—Gardner-Webb University Athletics has renewed its agreement with 730 The Game ESPN Charlotte (N.C.) to continue as the flagship radio station for 2023-2024 men’s and women’s basketball seasons.  Again this season, select broadcasts of Gardner-Webb men’s and […]

    A graphic with logos for the Runnin' Bulldog Sports Network, sponsor and ESPN Radio